Skip to content

Modified Stride

July 20, 2011

With my feet still giving me a bit of pain, I set out to walk this morning with a new stride motion.  Less knee extension and a bit more flexion meant softer impact and probably more importantly, less flexion of the achilles. I also played with a more toe-in position for my feet which reminded me of the poem “Hitch” by Nick Bantock (reproduced here without permission, also recited many times during my walk without permission).

HITCH

On a boat, ona lake, on the twenty-third,

I witnessed and event that was really quite absurd.

A pigeon-toed pigeon towed a pigeon and a toad.

Who sank, from verbal overload.

 

Overall, I feel better.  My time was slightly longer but I stopped to ask for art supplies from a house getting torn up for remodel and to talk with a neighbour about taking their gorgeous Alsation out for walks and also a leap into the roadside shrubbery when the traffic demanded more space.

 

12 days

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cat permalink
    July 24, 2011 06:15

    I have not tried them yet but you may want to consider Vibram FiveFingers (Barefoot sports shoes; toe shoes; minimalist shoes).

    “Vibram FiveFingers are designed to promote better foot mechanics—naturally. As such, they’re meant to be worn directly against the sole of your foot, allowing your foot to move as if barefoot.”

    I have heard that they are better for you because they do not alter your stride and permit your body to sense and adjust to the terrain. They take a bit of time to get used to after years of thick-soled/heeled footwear but people seem to like them quite a bit. I forgo shoes quite a bit when I can and would love to bring that experience to my daily activities outside of the home and thus plan on getting a pair at some point.

    • July 24, 2011 08:29

      I asked at Fleet Feet about them but the consensus was for a walker, they don’t offer the same experience. I also heard that there are a lot of people suffering injuries of various sorts. Arch and calf seem to be the most common victims. Some I feel may be biomechanics some may be poorly matched purpose and use. In the end, I was steered away from them.

Step up

