Skip to content

Healthy Community Walks

July 26, 2011

 

While I was walking on the consistently flat track at the local college yesterday, enjoying a surface far better than the roads I’ve been walking, a very teacherly thought struck me.

To encourage the community in healthy lifestyle, I could set-up a regular walking schedule with a twist.  I could provide short readings of a few paragraphs, or reproductions of art, or simply lead a discussion of science news and philosophy, the directions we don’t often get to enjoy in our day to day lives.

The walk sessions would nurture the mind as well as the body and give walkers more than just the exercise they could do on their own.

7 more days to the sea

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 22:16

    If I lived in your area still I would love to participate in something like that (just not at five in the morning thank-you-very-much!)

Step up

